Member States

Program Coordinator

Jodi Gibson
Research Coordinator
Nebraska Department of Transportation
Materials and Research
1400 Hwy. 2
Lincoln, Nebraska 68502
402-479-4337
jodi.gibson@nebraska.gov

MwRSF Contact

Ronald K. Faller, Ph.D., P.E.
Director and Research Associate Professor
Midwest Roadside Safety Facility (MwRSF)
Nebraska Transportation Center
University of Nebraska-Lincoln
130 Whittier Research Center
2200 Vine Street
Lincoln, Nebraska 68583-0853
(402) 472-6864
rfaller1@unl.edu

State Members of the Midwest Pooled Fund




California
California DOT

Bob Meline
Roadside Safety Innovation and Cooperative Research
Division of Research and Innovation
California Department of Transportation
5900 Folsom Blvd, MS-5
Sacramento, California 95819-4612
916-227-7031
bob.meline@dot.ca.gov

David Whitesel, P.E.
Roadside Safety Research Group
Office of Safety Innovation and Cooperative Research
Divison of Research and Innovation
California Department of Transportation
5900 Folsom Blvd, MS-5
Sacramento, California 95819-4612
916-227-5849
david.whitesel@dot.ca.gov

John Jewell, P.E.
Roadside Safety Research Group
Office of Safety Innovation and Cooperative Research
Division of Research and Innovation
California Department of Transportation
5900 Folsom Blvd, MS-5
Sacremento, California 95819-4612
916-227-5824
john.jewell@dot.ca.gov




Florida
Florida DOT

Derwood C. Sheppard, Jr., P.E.
Design Standards Publication Manager
Roadway Design Engineer
Florida Department of Transportation
605 Suwannee Street
Tallahassee, Florida 32399-0450
850-414-4334
Derwood.Sheppard@dot.state.fl.us




Georgia

Brent Story, P.E.
State Design Policy Engineer
Engineering Division
One Georgia Center
600 West Peachtree St NW
Atlanta, GA 30308
404-631-1978
bstory@dot.ga.gov

Frank Flanders IV, P.E.
Assistant State Design Policy Engineer
GDOT Office of Design Policy and Support
600 West Peachtree St NW
Atlanta, GA 30308
404-631-1663
fflanders@dot.ga.gov




Hawaii

James Fu, P.E.
State of Hawaii Department of Transportation
Highways Division, Design Branch, Bridge Design
601 Kamokila Boulevard, Room 611
Kapolei, Hawaii 96707
808-692-7613
James.Fu@hawaii.gov




Illinois

Paul L. Lorton, P.E.
Safety Programs Unit Chief
Illinois Department of Transportation
Bureau of Safety Engineering
2300 S. Dirksen Parkway, Room 323
Springfield, Illinois 62764
217-782-3568
Paul.lorton@Illinois.gov

Filiberto Sotelo
Safety Evaluation Engineer
Illinois Department of Transportation
Bureau of Safety Programs and Engineering
2300 S. Dirksen Parkway, Room 005
Springfield, Illinois 62764
217-557-2563
Filiberto.Sotelo@illinois.gov




Indiana

Frank Sailer
Highway Engineer
Indiana Department of Transportation
100 N Senate Ave, Room N901
Indianapolis, Indiana 46204
317-232-5387
FrSailer@indot.in.gov

Katherine Smutzer, P.E.
Standards Engineer
Indiana Department of Transportation
100 N Senate Ave, Room N901
Indianapolis, Indiana 46204
317-233-2074
ksmutzer@indot.in.gov




Iowa

Brian Smith, P.E.
Methods Engineer
Iowa Department of Transportation
Office of Design
800 Lincoln Way
Ames, Iowa 50010
515-239-1402
brian.smith@dot.iowa.gov

Daniel Harness
Transportation Engineer Specialist
Iowa Department of Transportation
Office of Design - Methods Section
800 Lincoln Way
Ames, Iowa 50010
515-239-1727
Daniel.Harness@iowadot.us




Kansas

Scott King, P.E.
Chief, Bureau of Road Design
Kansas Department of Transportation
Bureau of Road Design
Dwight D. Eisenhower State Office Bldg
700 S.W. Harrison Street
Topeka, Kansas 66603-3754
785-296-6970
scott.king@ks.gov

Thomas Rhoads, P.E.
Road Design Leader
Kansas Department of Transportation
Bureau of Road Design
Dwight D. Eisenhower State Office Bldg
700 S.W. Harrison Street
Topeka, Kansas 66603-3754
785-296-0322
thomas.rhoads@ks.gov

Brian Kierath Jr., E.I.T.
Engineering Associate III
Kansas Department of Transportation
Bureau of Road Design
Bioscience and Technology Business Center
2029 Becker Drive, Suite 236
Lawrence, Kansas 66047
785-296-2093
Brian.Kierath@ks.gov




Kentucky
Kentucky Transportation Cabinet

Jason J. Siwula, P.E.
Assistant State Highway Engineer
Kentucky Transportation Cabinet
Department of Highways
State Highway Engineer's Office
200 Mero Street
Frankfort, Kentucky 40622
502-564-3730
Jason.Siwula@ky.gov




Minnesota

Michael Elle, P.E.
Design Standards Engineer
Minnesota Department of Transportation
Transportation Building
395 John Ireland Blvd
St. Paul, Minnesota 55155
651-366-4622
michael.elle@state.mn.us

Michelle Moser
Assistant Design Standards Engineer
Minnesota Department of Transportation
Office of Project Management and Technical Support
395 John Ireland Blvd, MS 696
St. Paul, Minnesota 55155-1800
651-366-4708
michelle.moser@state.mn.us




Missouri

Ronald Effland, P.E., ACTAR, LCI
Non-Motorized Transportation Engineer
Missouri Department of Transportation
Design Division - Engineering Policy Group
105 West Capitol Avenue
P.O. Box 270
Jefferson City, Missouri 65102
417-895-7649
ronald.effland@modot.mo.gov




Nebraska

Mike Owen, P.E.
Roadway Design Engineer
Nebraska Department of Transportation
1400 Hwy. 2
Lincoln, Nebraska 68502
402-479-4601
mike.owen@nebraska.gov

Phil TenHulzen, P.E.
Design Standards Engineer
Nebraska Department of Transportation
1400 Hwy. 2
Lincoln, Nebraska 68502
402-479-3951
Phil.tenhulzen@nebraska.gov

Mark Osborn, P.E.
Secondary Roads Engineer
Nebraska Department of Transportation
1400 Hwy. 2
Lincoln, Nebraska 68502
402-479-4443
Mark.osborn@nebraska.gov




New Jersey

Hung Tang
Senior Engineer, Transportation
New Jersey Department of Transportation
Roadway Design Standards
PO Box 600
1035 Parkway Avenue
Trenton, New Jersey 08625
609-530-5635
Hung.Tang@dot.state.nj.us

Joseph Warren
Assistant Engineer, Transportation
New Jersey Department of Transportation
Structural and RR Engineering Services
PO Box 600
1035 Parkway Avenue
Trenton, New Jersey 08625
609-530-2561
Joseph.Warren@dot.state.nj.us




North Carolina

Neil Mastin, P.E.
Manager
Transportation Program Management - Research and Development
North Carolina Department of Transportation
104 Fayetteville Street
1549 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, North Carolina 27699-1549
919-508-1865
jmastin@ncdot.gov

D.D. "Bucky" Galloway, P.E., CPM
Field Operations Engineer
North Carolina Department of Transportation
103B Underwood Road
Fletcher, North Carolina 28732
828-650-2700
ddgalloway@ncdot.gov




Ohio

Don Fisher, P.E.
Roadway Standards Engineer
Ohio Department of Transportation
Office of Roadway Engineering
1980 W. Broad Street, MailStop 1230
Columbus, Ohio 43223
614-387-2614
Don.Fisher@dot.state.oh.us




South Carolina
South Carolina DOT

Mark H. Anthony, P.E.
Letting Preparation Engineer
South Carolina Department of Transportation
955 Park Street
P.O. Box 191
Columbia, South Carolina 29201-3959
803-737-1379
Anthonymh@scdot.org




South Dakota

Bernie L. Clocksin
Standards Engineer
South Dakota Department of Transportation
Project Development Office
700 East Broadway
Pierre, South Dakota 57501
605-773-6646
Bernie.clocksin@state.sd.us




Utah

Shawn Debenham
Traffic & Safety Specialist
Utah Department of Transportation
4501 South 2700 West
PO Box 143200
Salt Lake City, Utah 84114-3200
801-971-9575
sdebenham@utah.gov

Glenn Blackwelder
Operations Engineer
Utah Department of Transportation
4501 South 2700 West
PO Box 143200
Salt Lake City, Utah 84114-3200
801-965-4045
gblackwelder@utah.gov




Virginia
Virginia DOT

Charles W.Patterson, P.E.
Standards/Special Design Section Manager
Location and Design Division
Virginia Department of Transportation
1401 E. Broad St
Richmond, Virginia 23219
804-786-1805
Chuck.Patterson@vdot.virginia.gov




Wisconsin

Erik Emerson, P.E.
Standards Development Engineer
Roadside Design
Wisconsin Department of Transportation
Bureau of Project Development
4802 Sheboygan Ave, Room 651
P.O. Box 7916
Madison, Wisconsin 53707-7916
608-266-2842
Erik.emerson@wi.gov




Wyoming

Bill Wilson, P.E.
Architecture and Highway Standards Engineer
Wyoming Department of Transportation
5300 Bishop Blvd.
Cheyenne, Wyoming 82009-3340
307-777-4216
Bill.wilson@wyo.gov